Code of Conduct for Establishing Practice of Yoga

In Yoga there are 40 Yamas and fifty Niyamas out of which Sage Patanjali has selected just 5 respectively:


Ahimsa – eradicating violent nature of thought and behavior.
Satya – cultivating truthfulness.
Asteya – overcoming the desire to gain.
Aparigraha – overcoming the desire to accumulate.
Brahmacharya – establishing one’s nature in higher identity.


Shaucha – purity.
Santosha – contentment.
Tapas – effort to transform one’s life.
Swadhyaya – self-awareness, self-study.
Ishwara Pranidhana – faith in the higher power.