Exploring the Differences Between Major Patriarchal Religions and the Eternal Nature of Sanatan Dharma

Worship of the Sacred Tree to please Pritvi Ma, the Goddess of Earth

Difference between Major Patriarchal Religions and Jnana Yoga

Major patriarchal religions like Christianity, Islam, and Buddhism have their unique beliefs, practices, and philosophies. However, one common thread that runs through all of them is the emphasis on the worship of a formless entity or God, which is beyond human comprehension. They all prescribe meditation as a means to achieve union with this formless entity.

River Worship Ganga Aarati at Haridwar (Hari Ki Puri Ghat)

On the other hand, Jnana Yoga is a path of spiritual realization through knowledge and wisdom. It is rooted in the ancient Indian tradition of Sanatan Dharma or Hinduism, and it prescribes meditation on a form rather than the formless. The Vedas, the oldest scriptures of Sanatan Dharma, prescribe meditation on deities like Lord Vishnu, Lord Shiva, and Goddess Devi.

Difference between Patriarchal and Matriarchal Religions

Patriarchal religions are those in which men hold the dominant position in religious institutions and practices. They have traditionally excluded women from leadership roles and denied them access to sacred spaces and rituals. Examples of patriarchal religions include Christianity, Islam, and Judaism.

Worship of Fire in Sudarshan Yajna

On the other hand, matriarchal religions are those in which women hold the dominant position in religious institutions and practices. They value the feminine aspects of divinity and prioritize the nurturing and life-giving aspects of nature. Examples of matriarchal religions include Wicca, Dianic Witchcraft, and some indigenous religions.

Yoga as a Set of Techniques to Achieve Union Within

Yoga is a set of techniques that originated in ancient India and aims to achieve union between the individual self (Atman) and the universal self (Brahman). It is not a religion in the conventional sense, but a holistic system that encompasses physical, mental, and spiritual practices.

Worship of Wind with Agarvati

Yoga prescribes moderation and balance in all aspects of life, including the practice of different types of yoga. The four main paths of yoga are Karma Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, and Jnana Yoga. Karma Yoga is the path of selfless service and action, Hatha Yoga is the path of physical postures and breathing exercises, Bhakti Yoga is the path of devotion and love, and Jnana Yoga is the path of knowledge and wisdom. A balanced practice of these four paths is believed to lead to holistic well-being and spiritual growth.

Why Sanatan Dharma is an Eternal Religion

Sanatan Dharma, also known as Hinduism, is a religion that has evolved over thousands of years and has no specific founder or scripture. It is based on the principle of eternal truths (Sanatana Dharma), which are timeless and universal.

Sanatan Dharma is not just a religion but a way of life that encompasses various practices and philosophies. It emphasizes the importance of individual spiritual growth and realization, and it provides a framework for achieving this through various paths, including Jnana Yoga, Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, and Hatha Yoga.

Worship of Eather – Akash Pita with Flowers

Sanatan Dharma has survived numerous invasions and upheavals throughout history because of its adaptability and inclusiveness. It has embraced various cultures and traditions and incorporated them into its framework, making it a truly universal and eternal religion.