Bihar School Of Yoga – Yoga Chakra

The Bihar School of Yoga is a spiritual and educational organization founded in 1963 by Swami Satyananda Saraswati. The school is based in Munger, Bihar, India, and it offers a comprehensive approach to yoga that includes physical postures, breathing practices, meditation, and philosophy.

Bihar Yoga Chakra, Bihar School of Yoga

Bihar Yoga Chakra System

Hatha | Shatkarma, Asana, Pranayama, Mudra, Bandha.
Karma | Atmashuddhi, Akarta Bhava, Naishkarma Siddhi.
Jnana | Shubheksha, Vicharana, Tanumansa, Sattwapatti, Asamsakti, Padartha Bhavana, Turyaga. 
Bhakti | Apara Bhakti (Karma Kanda, Upasana Kanda), Para Bhakti (Jnana Kanda).
Kriya | Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana.
Raja | Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi. 

Overall, the Yoga Chakra system taught by the Bihar School of Yoga is a comprehensive approach to yoga that encompasses physical, mental, and spiritual practices for the holistic development of the individual.

Brief overview of each of practices as part of the Yoga Chakra system taught by the Bihar School of Yoga:

  1. Hatha: This refers to the physical practices of yoga, including asanas (postures), pranayama (breathing exercises), mudra (gestures), and bandha (locks), which are all aimed at balancing and harmonizing the flow of energy in the body.
  2. Karma: This involves the purification of the mind and the cultivation of a selfless attitude through practices such as atma shuddhi (purification of the self), akarta bhava (the attitude of non-doership), and naishkarma siddhi (the attainment of actionlessness).
  3. Jnana: This refers to the path of knowledge and wisdom, which involves practices such as shubheksha (the desire for liberation), vicharana (discrimination between the real and the unreal), tanumansa (subtlety of the mind), sattwapatti (the attainment of purity), asamsakti (detachment), padartha bhavana (contemplation on the objects of knowledge), and turyaga (the attainment of the transcendent state).
  4. Bhakti: This is the path of devotion, which involves cultivating a love and devotion towards a higher power. This is divided into two parts: apara bhakti, which includes the performance of karma and upasana (worship) to attain the desired object of devotion, and para bhakti, which involves the cultivation of jnana (knowledge) to attain the ultimate realization of the divine.
  5. Kriya: This refers to the internal practices of yoga, including pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses), dharana (concentration), and dhyana (meditation), which are aimed at developing inner awareness, stillness, and peace.

Through the practice of Yoga Chakra, individuals can cultivate greater self-awareness, inner peace, and spiritual growth.